Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Ken Peck - before and after  (Read 1583 times)

Offline Ken Peck

• Legionary
Ken Peck - before and after
« on: June 27, 2010, 06:03:41 pm »
I'm new at this. But I don't think I'm going to accomplish much more with these. The before pictures may be better than the after. :-[ I also had the middle coin backwards (reverse with the obverse; and obverse with the reverse; I kept that in the after photos.) I've indicated the inscriptions I can read in bold; italic is supplied from other descriptions of similar coins. I've added spaces; hyphen indicates a split in the inscription.

A. Martinian (July-September 324)

AE 21, weight 2.3 g., die axis 180°, obverse D N MARTIANVS-P F AVG, radiate bust right, reverse GLORIA-EXERCITVS two soldiers standing, extending arms holding standard, one on left holds spear in left hand.

Identification based largely on portrait and ANVS?AV? on the obverse and ???ORI??? on the reverse. The rest is illegible. If this attribution is correct, this should be an unusual coin, as Martinian, a pretender at the time of Constantine I, lasted only a couple of months.

B. Constantius II (337-363)