Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Searched uncleaned coins  (Read 5683 times)

ozalan

Searched uncleaned coins
« on: May 08, 2010, 01:05:36 am »
I’ve been cleaning coins for only a couple of years, and when I first started I found a page on a website that listed the twelve commonest coin types found in uncleaned lots.  I can still remember my first fallen horseman and two soldiers with standard(s) etc. Anyway I’ve now cleaned up a few hundred roman coins and have got examples of 11 of those twelve types but no Campgates. Now is this because they are now scarce or the more likely reason I suspect is, that not only are the dug up coins searched for gold,silver, early larger issues etc but also for collectable issues like campgates (I’ve no idea why these are so popular either). So what I’m trying to say, is that are the uncleaned coins going through so many people before they get to us “cleaners” that just about anything worth anything or unusual is taken out?

So
1)   Am I just unlucky and there are still loads of campgates in uncleaned lots?
2)   When was the last time you found anything rare in an uncleaned roman lot?