Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: HELP! Verdigris / Bronze Disease Destroying My Ancients!!  (Read 1221 times)

Offline Alex M4

• Legionary
Hi folks,

I have been collecting ancient coins for roughly 5 years. My collection is primarily Byzantine and Late Roman bronze folleis, with a few silver and gold mixed in for good measure. I recently began to notice the dreaded, horrifying verdigris/bronze disease appearing on a large number of my coins. It sometimes appears as neon green dots on surfaces, and other times like a fuzzy blue-green coating.

I need help to remedy this problem now before it spreads and annihilates my entire collection!

They are stored in a Beba chest of 10 drawers in a cabinet with a door. I have placed weather stripping all around the crevices/openings of the cabinet and this has brought down the humidity to ~40%. I live in an extremely humid climate in an older home which has difficulty managing the overall humidity--so 40% is much lower than if they were stored elsewhere in the home. Silica packets strewn throughout the cabinet and a dehumidifier have not been able to bring the relative humidity lower than 40%.