Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Lydian fractional issues  (Read 1195 times)

Offline Colin D

• Auxiliary
Lydian fractional issues
« on: January 02, 2020, 01:37:41 pm »
Hi everyone.  Noob here looking for some help. I'm trying to understand the fractional issues of the pre Achaemenid Lydian coinages. Specifically, I'm trying to compile a table of the known fractions of the Lydian elecrum stater, the silver stater, and the heavy and light gold staters, along with their weightsWeights in grains troy are ok but I'd rather have grams if possible.  Appreciate any guidance or source texts you might be able to pass along.

Cheers!

Offline Anaximander

• Caesar
Re: Lydian fractional issues
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2020, 08:57:36 am »
Interested in Trites, hektes, and 1/192nds of a stater, among others?

Ernst Babelon, in his Traité des monnaies grecques et romaines, gives it a glancing blow in his first volume (theory) and more so in his second (history, I).  The latter starts with a table of the Milesian standard.  Other weight standards get their own tables in this voluminous work.