Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Coin Identification/Authenticity - confirmation?  (Read 506 times)

Vic D

Coin Identification/Authenticity - confirmation?
« on: July 10, 2019, 06:27:26 am »
I've been collecting - then trading in - ancient coins for the past 30+ years - but I can still get caught out by fakes.= - hence this request. I'm attaching pics of four Imperial denarii that I have recently been offered. The seller as acting as a middleman for a 'Turkish archaeologist' - he professed no numismatic knowledge personally, and so did not offer any certain identifications.

After some research I have been able to identify them all - see photos: any confirmation would be greatly appreciated -  but their condition seems suspiciously pristine to me - and after a looking through the FAC Fakes Database, I believe at least two of them (the Gordian III 'Equestrian' denarius, and the Caracall 'Profectio' denarius) may be fakes

I realise any advice anyone may be kind enough to give will lack the confidence of actually handling these coins, but what do you think?

Yours hopefully -

Vic Davies

PS: I have taken larger pictures of all these coins, but couldn't submit them as attachments individuallly because of size (Kb) restrictions.

Offline Joe Sermarini

• Owner, President
  • FORVM STAFF
  • Caesar
  • All Coins Guaranteed for Eternity.
    • FORVM ANCIENT COINS