Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Coin identification assistance required please: IMP CAES M AVR ANTON AVG / P SEP  (Read 510 times)

Alan B3

Hi All,

I am a relative newbie to Roman coin collecting and acquired this coin because I did not have a double headed coin in my collection and to be honest I simply liked the look of it!

However, after many hours of research, I have hit a blank wall in terms of identifying whether it is a fake/imitation or genuine coin, or possibly even a mule. After observing several hundred images I have not been able to identify a matching coin. I have been able to find matching obverse and reverse legends on separate coins.

Any assistance anyone can provide will be sincerely appreciated. At this point I am out of my depth!

The coin appears silver and is about the size of a current (small) UK 5 pence piece 18mm.
Using my limited research capabilities below are the details of my unsubstantiated finding:

1.   Obverse LegendIMP CAES M AVR ANTON AVG (Caracalla Denarius. 198-199 AD. (Laureate, draped and cuirassed bust right).
2.   Reverse legend: P SEPT GETA CAES PONT (Bare headed, draped and cuirassed bust of Geta right).