Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Anonymous Folles - Help aligning Class A2, Class A3 & Metcalf's 7 Categories  (Read 930 times)

Offline Kevin P

• Praetorian
  • IC-XC NIKA
Thank you to Joe for encouraging me to break my many questions into multiple threads.

I'm pretty new to Byzantine coins (I've been collecting Greek and Roman for >10 years).   I learned about the Anonymous Folles about 9 months ago and have become a bit obsessed with them - both buying and researching.  

It seems like many collectors and even dealers struggle with consistently (and accurately) differentiating between Class A Folles' target='_blank'>Class A2 and A3.  The Numiswiki Class A Follis Class A Folles' target='_blank'>Ornaments table is wonderful - and it calls out yet another classification - the 7 categories identified by Metcalf.  The great thing about Metcalf's categories is that it could be a link to more definitively locking down which coins are Class A Folles' target='_blank'>Class A2 versus Class A Folles' target='_blank'>Class A3 since it is based on specific design elements on the coin itself (versus approx weights and diameters).  Many of Metcalf's categories even call out whether they are Class A Folles' target='_blank'>Class A2 or A3, but that isn't complete.