Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Restoration: enhancing contrast using original dirst  (Read 1328 times)

wdclawson

Restoration: enhancing contrast using original dirst
« on: November 10, 2017, 11:23:27 am »
I would appreciate comments from experienced collectors on the captioned practice. I am quite new to ancients.

On various videos demonstrating the cleaning of ancient coins, I see some cleaning which removes dirt and exposes the patina...and stops there. Some other clearly expert cleaners go further by replacing the original dirt (I don't know how this is done) in the fields of the coin, resulting in a high contrast between the characters, symbols, etc. and the "unraised" surface of the coin.

Is this return of the original dirt a common practice? Is it considered quite acceptable and simply a matter of personal taste/preference?

Does this practice have any impact on the grading services' judgment of a coin?

Thank you. 

wdclawson

Re: Restoration: enhancing contrast using original dirst
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2017, 11:28:18 am »
Sorry...original DIRT...not dirst!

Online Bill W4

• Caesar
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2017, 06:12:24 pm »